Our Mission

The purpose of the Mills County Historical Commission is to preserve, protect and promote history within the County, and to support the programs of the Texas Historical Commission. The Texas Historical Commission administers the National Register of Historic Places within Texas. It also identifies Recorded Texas Historic Landmarks and recognizes them with Official Texas Historical Marker medallions and descriptive plaques. Finally, the Commission identifies State Archeological Landmarks and Historic Texas Cemeteries.

The Mills County Historical Commission cordially invites anyone to attend the regular monthly meetings that are held on the first Tuesday of each month at 9:30 a.m. in the Mills County Courthouse third floor history room.

Members are appointed by the Mills County Commissioners' Court: the Honorable Jett Johnson, Mills County Judge; Mike Wright, Commissioner Precinct 1; Robert Head, Commissioner Precinct 2; Robert Hall, Commissioner Precinct 3; Jason Williams, Commissioner Precinct 4.

The Mills County Historical Commission is currently headed by Lynetta Barnett, Chair; Gerald Hale, County Attorney, vice chair; Judy McKinney, Secretary/Reporter; J. C. Mason, Treasurer; J. Don Barnett, Parliamentarian. Membership includes Keith Brooks, Sam Duncan, Ramona Flores, Joy Nowell, Steve Mason, and Ronnie Wilson.

The MCHC is supported by the Commissioners' Court, memorials and donations, and proceeds from the sale of its publications. MCHC oversees applications for historical markers, assists in their purchase and holds dedication ceremonies. It also encourages an early interest in local history with programs for school age children and gives a historical essay award each year to a graduating Mills County senior.